Sweet Surrender

Surrendering doesn’t come easy to me. As a matter of fact, it’s pretty tough. I take it as a loss, as defeat and as weakness.

But right now, I am lost.

I feel defeated.

I feel weak.

I feel robbed of my joy, my heart is heavy, my anxieties are consuming my every thought. It is a vicious cycle that I cannot break.

But I know the One who can.

So, I have come to this place of sweet surrender. This place where His mercies flow. This place where I can rest in His arms and find peace.

1 Peter 5:7 says, “Cast all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”

Do you know how freeing it feels to truly cast all of your anxious thoughts at the foot of the cross? To humble yourself before Him and ask Him to help? Maybe you’re like me, and you get so caught up in the busyness of life, where you forget how much He cares for you and loves you.

That busyness. It’s not from Him. The distractions that keep you from running with reckless abandon to Jesus..those distractions are not from Him, either. Then what do we do when we are barely treading water? When our fear has overpowered our faith, when our anxieties have swallowed us up, when our sadness has stolen our joy? Well, I remember the blessings that flow, and praise the One from whom they came. Philippians 4:8 is a beautiful reminder of just that, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy-think about such things.”

So, here I am, Lord. This place where You have brought me. This place of sweet surrender.  Where I can focus more on You, and less on me. Where I can find stillness in the midst of the storm. Where I am gently and lovingly reminded that You are God, and I am not. And what a beautiful reminder that is. Because I can’t do this without you.

Surrender doesn’t have to be enslaving when you are surrendering to the One who can save you.

Matthew 11:28-30 Come to Me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Have you surrendered to Him? Are you still carrying your burdens?

Find your rest in Him, sweet friends.

About Julia

Follower of our sweet Savior, Jesus Christ. Saved by grace. Wife to my dreamy husband, and mommy to my beautiful children.
This entry was posted in anxiety, faith, fear, God, surrender. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

